Red Axes – Dori Sadovnik vs Niv Arzi

Red Axes have a rock’n’roll approach to DJing. Dori Sadovnik and Niv Arzi started Red Axes out of the ashes of their post-punk/new wave band Red Cotton, giving them a unique approach to electronic music. They’re best known  for their modernized dance music infused with spiky guitars and industrial beats. 

As producers, they’ve had releases on top labels such as Hivern, Correspondent, Multi Culti, Kill the DJ and many more. Their tracks are constantly being played by some of the biggest DJs in the world. The boys also have their own record label, Grazen Records.

In 2014, their first album ‘Ballad of the Ice’ was released on French label I’m A Cliche. The album shows off their wide range and eclectic style, from the Portuguese new-wave deliciousness of ‘Papa Sooma’, to the western-like clubby psychedelia of ‘The Watkins’, to their brooding dark cover of Bauhaus’ ‘Bela Lugosi’s Dead’.

Red Axes are co-headlining FIXED at Good Room on March 5th, DJing alongside Pional. We asked the guys to interview each other and learned about a past live as a tennis player, a secret love of western films and dreams about being in Super Mario Bros.

Niv Arzi: When did you feel that music is your thing and what was the reason?

Dori Sadovnik: Until I was 21 I was a professional tennis player and I thought I am going to have a career and that my future was there. When I was 14 I started to play the guitar and write songs, but I did not feel that I’m going to this as a profession. Being a tennis player was very intense, I was flying a lot around the world, there was always a lot of excitement and adrenalin, and when quit, I really missed this feeling, and felt a like something very important is missing. Then I understood, that I could live a similar life with music, so i started to do it seriously, 

What is your favorite music instrument and why?

Right now my favourite instrument are organs with built in drum machines, because they have all i need to write a song.

If you are asked to do a soundtrack, which style of movie would you prefer?

Making a soundtrack is something I really want to do, and still have no experience in. I think I would choose a western movie.

Dori Sadovnik: If you are not DJing or making music what the 3 things you like to do the most?

Niv Arzi: Being with my girlfriend and my friends at our place, making good food, go to see a lot of live shows, swimming and chilling at the beach.

What is the weirdest dream you remember you had?

I had many weird dreams, but the last one I remember was running  from an old lady that was riding a bicycle with no wheels. It happened yesterday and I was flying during this dream in the same place I always fly, the center of Tel Aviv city to a castle that looks a bit like the castle from the super mario video game.

Where do you want to be in 20 years?

I think that there would be some changes in the awareness  and that huge robots will try to eat us all alive. But without success yet.

Red Axes are DJing at Good Room on March 5th at the FIXED party with Pional, JDH & Dave P, John Barera, Paul Raffaele and Barbie Bertisch. Tickets are available here.

FIXED pional red axes

Leave a Reply

